Easiest Banana Nut Bread

b4

Usually, when I bake, it’s from a box.  I’ve been trying to be more hands on in the kitchen and learn new recipes recently.   I wanted to try banana bread because I figured it would be an easy recipe to tackle first.  Plus, I wont have to spend $3 at Starbucks for one slice.  I found a recipe on Pinterest and gave it a go, it was the worst.  The bread didn’t even rise.  The second attempt, I tried to manipulate that same recipe, it was just as bad.

I was having a conversation with a friend and she said she had an easy no-fail recipe.  I said ok, lets try this again.

Guys, guys, I’m telling you, this has got to be the BEST banana bread.

So here ya go:

  • 1/2 cup of butter
  • 3/4 cup of sugar
  • 2 beaten eggs
  • 2 cups flour (I used HEB organics unbleached all purpose flour)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3 Crushed bananas
  • 1/3 cup crushed walnuts (I left a handful of whole walnuts on the side to put on top)

I melted the butter and mixed that in a large bowl with the sugar.  After the butter and sugar is mixed, I mixed in the beaten eggs.  Then I added all the dry ingredients, flour, baking soda, salt and mixed.  Lastly, I added the crushed bananas and walnuts and mixed.  I placed the mix in a large greased bread pan (I like to grease my pans with coconut oil) and placed the whole walnuts on top.  Bake at 325 – 350 for 1 hour.  I baked mine at 350.

b1

b2

b3

Luis asks for the bread every week now and E, well, he can’t keep his hands off.

I know it asks for a lot of sugar.  Now that I’ve checked banana bread off my list, I need to mess with the recipe and see if I can make a healthier version.  For this first timer though, I think this was easy and yummy.

If you know a healthier version, please comment below.  I’d love to try it and give you credit 🙂

For now, we’re loving this recipe.

Enjoy!

XO – Sara

Leave a Reply

