no makeup makeup

I’ve been on this little health kick lately, trying to eat healthy and exercise when I can and looking at everything with a minimalist outlook.  That includes my makeup.  I’ve been trying to clean out my makeup for some time now.  Its expensive so I wanted to use up what I do have before buying new stuff, replacing each used up item with a more all natural alternative while also decluttering.

If that’s you too, I hope you find this post helpful!

When looking for makeup now, I’m super picky.  It needs to be easy to apply, covers great, no talc and be a vegan – gluten free – cruelty free product.  I know friends, I know.  It makes the search so hard.  I’ve done a lot of searching and found some products that I think are great and wanted to share…

A1

1. Jane Iredale Foundation

My or my do I LOVE her PurePressed Base Mineral Foundation.  I wear the color Latte and I love it.  Its medium to full coverage depending on how much you build it up.  Here are the ingredients:

PurePressed Base Refill – All shades except Cognac, Mahogany, Velvet, Bittersweet, Cocoa, Warm Brown
Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 14%, Zinc Oxide 3%. Ingredients: Mica, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, Stearic Acid, Plankton Extract, Algae Extract, Pinus Strobus (Pine) Bark Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract. [+/- (May Contain: Iron Oxides (CI 77489, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288)]

Gluten Free :: 100% Vegan :: Cruelty Free :: Paraben Free :: Talc Free

2. Mineral Fusion bronzer

Guys, this bronzer is everything.  I use the color Luster Bronzer Duo.  I’ve just been throwing this on to give me a sun kissed sculpted look and love it.  I don’t even wear blush anymore.  You’ll see two colors, the lighter I use as a highlighter and the bottom as the bronzer.  Here are the ingredients:

Mica, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Lauroyl Lysine, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Ascorbyl Palmitate (Vitamin C), Camellia Sinensis (White Tea) Leaf Extract, Aspalathus Linearis (Rooibos Red Tea) Leaf Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Laminaria Ochroleuca (Sea Kelp) Extract, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Extract, Sambucus Nigra (Elderberry) Fruit Extract, Phenoxyethanol. MAY CONTAIN (+/-): Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide.

Gluten Free :: 100% Vegan :: Cruelty Free :: Paraben Free :: Artificial Color Free :: Fragrance Free :: Talc Free :: Hypo-allergenic :: Phthalate Free

3. Lip

So this is the one that gave me the most trouble.  Not just because of all my boxes the product had to check off, but A LOT of products I love, I had to say good bye to.  I love lipstick/gloss.  I wear it all the time.  It gives me a pick me up.  I never thought about it, but do you take off your lipstick every time before you eat or drink?  I didn’t, I would just always reapply.  I also lick my lips and kiss my toddler.  A lot of products claim to “edible” and have FDA approved dyes/coloring/lakes.  But, just because you can eat it, doesn’t mean you should.  A lot of products I LOVE have these ingredients.  For example: FD&C Blue No. 1 (CI 42090), FD&C Yellow No. 5 (CI 19140), FD&C Yellow No. 7 (CI 15985), FD&C Red No. 40 (CI 16035), D&C Red 6 (CI 15850), D&C Red 7 (CI 15850).  All of those ingredients were in one of my favorite lipstick brands. I just prefer my lipstick to be as natural as possible.

So I fell in love with a Pacifica lipstick in the color Natural Mystic.  I wore it in one of my recent Instagram posts.  Its my go to everyday lipstick now.  I LOVE this color.  My lips already have a little color, but this lipstick just makes them pop and feels soooo good.  Here are the ingredients:

Coconut Oil- Absorbs easily and keeps lips soft and supple. Helps to slow down the signs of aging.

Shea Butter- Rich in essential fatty acids that are super antioxidants. Provides moisturization and hydrates lips.

Jojoba Esters- Provides a buttery smooth application.

Vitamin E- Helps minimize fine lines and fights free radicals.

INGREDIENTS: oleic/linoleic/linolenic polyglycerides (from sunflower oil), butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter, diiostearyl malate, caprylic/capric triglyceride (from coconut oil), simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) esters, simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) oil, euphorbia chinensis (candelilla) wax, cetyl alcohol, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf extract, flavor oil (all natural), tocopherol (vitamin E). May contain: melia azadirachta fruit extract, mica, titanium dioxide, iron oxides, tin oxide, vaccinium macrocarpon fruit (cranberry) extract, coccinia indica flower extract, daucus carota sativa root (carrot) extract, lycopersicum fruit (tomato) extract, and beta vulgaris (beetroot) extract.

Gluten Free :: 100% Vegan :: Cruelty Free :: Paraben Free :: Talc Free :: Dye/Lake free

Your ultimately responsible for what you put on or in your body, so I’m just trying to take control of that.  Start small.  Some future products I’m excited try are a mascara, makeup setting spray, eye shadows, eyeliner and a moisturizer.  Little by litter though.  If you want to know how that goes, follow the blog or my Instagram to stay up to date 🙂

If you know of any good products that you love that check all my boxes, please share!  I’m still learning and new to this and would love to know what you use if its better.  Comment below!

Happy Friday!

Sig1

 

 

 

:: This is NOT a sponsored post, just wanted to share some awesome products I love::

Leave a Reply

